Program – Musick for a While, Henry & Daniel Purcell



Pieter De Praetere – countertenor
Nele Vertommen – oboe/recorder
Evan Buttar – cello/gamba
Beniamino Paganini – harpsichord/recorder


Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
Musick for a while uit Oedipus
Hornpipe uit The Old Bachelor
Entry Dance uit The Fairy Queen
Rondeau uit The Fairy Queen
When Orpheus uit Celestial Music did the Gods inspire
Almand, Corant & Hornpipe uit klavecimbelsuite in d
Hornpipe uit The Fairy Queen
I wandered lonely as a cloud van William Wordsworth
Oh Solitude uit Comes Amoris
Second act tune: Air uit The Fairy Queen
Her charming strains uit Celestial Music did the Gods inspire (c)

Daniel Purcell (ca. 1664 – 1717)
Slow air uit The Unhappy Penitent
Sound the Trumpet (D) & Now sooth our joy (d) uit Wellcome glorious day
Sonata seconda for fluto solo in d

Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
Strike the viol, touch the lute uit Come ye sons of Art

Program text


Henry Purcell, Playlist