Program – from Bach to Mozart



2 oboes, bassoon, 2 horns
3 first violins, 3 second violins, 2 violas, 2 celli, double bass
traverso, harpsichord & dir. – Beniamino Paganini


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Orchestral suite no. 1 for 2 oboes, bassoon, strings & basso continuo in C, BWV 1066 – 22’
Ouverture, Courante, Gavotte I & II, Folane, Menuet I&II, Bourrée I&II, Passepied I&II

Carl Phillip Emanuel Bach (1714-1788)
Celloconcerto in A, Wq. 172 – 23’
Allegro, Largo con sordini Mesto, Allegro assai

– break – 

Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Qual dubbio ormai, Hob. XXIVa:4 – 10’
Aria: “Se ogni giorno”

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1764-1792)
Flute concerto in D – 18’
Allegro aperto, Adagio ma non troppo, Rondeau Allegro

Program text

This program is a unique musical journey by grandmaster J.S. Bach through his son C.P.E. Bach and J. Haydn to another icon of music history: none other than W.A. Mozart. This immediately also audibly reproduces the fascinating transition from the Baroque period to Classicism. The concert opens with a highlight of a typical baroque genre: the suite (a varied succession of different dance forms preceded by a majestic overture), followed by one of the most beautiful cello concerti of the 18th century. After the interval, a less well-known, but catchy and melodic aria by Haydn will be played, in which the harpsichord plays an important role. Beniamino then takes his flute to close this festive program with a beautiful flute concerto by WA Mozart.

Text aria Haydn

Se ogni giorno, Prence invito, a te crescono gl’allori,
che eroi spargere sudori, chi vorrà teco pugnar.
l’orme al genitore con virtù pari e valore cercheranno te imitar.